Born on this day (23rd - April)

1851 - 1898

Wilhelm Werner

1874 - 1947

Bob Burman

1884 - 1916


Dick Atkins

1936 - 1966

Larry Rice

1946 - 2009

Mike Smith

1955 - 2014

Mike Ciochetti


Pierluigi Martini


Chris Kneifel


Paul Belmondo


Parnelli Jones Jr


Thiago Marques


Died on this day (23rd - April)

1892 - 1948

1912 - 1950

Dempsey Wilson

1927 - 1971

Alfred Ethelbert Moss

1896 - 1972

Juan Gálvez
Juan Gálvez

14 / 2 / 1916
3 / 3 / 1963

Juan Gálvez was born the 14 of February of 1916 in Federal Capital. Juan Gálvez shared his passion of cars and racing with his brother Oscar. Their farther was a mechanic and he taught them how to look after their own cars, how to make and modify parts, improving the performance.

They started racing together but soon started racing in selerate vehicles. He made his debut on the 14th of December 1941, in the Thousand Miles of Avellaneda Automobile Club, finishing second to Juan Manuel Fangio.

His first victory of many came on the 22 of February of 1949 in the I Vuelta de Santa Fe. .A quiet man who built his own cars, "Juancito" was - along with his older brother, a mechanic, tuner and driver. The Gálvez were synonymous with Argentine motorsport in the 50's and 60's. His Blue Ford car that took the number 1 spot on many occasions, was right hand drive, that way everyone knew that Juan Gálvez was driving.

He won nine Championships in 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958 and 1960. He won his last race, the IV Vuelta de Laboulaye, in 1962 with his Ford, travelling at times in excess of 185 kmh.

On the 3 of March of 1963, in Olavarría, after 47 years without an accident, he was driving without the lap strap of his seatbelt done up. The car hit a bump in the road, and he bounced up striking his head on the roof causing a fracture of a cervical vertebra, killing him. His co-driver Raúl Cottet survived the crash.

In June of that same year a race a memorial race was held to honour Gálvez, and two drivers - Joaquim Daponte and Joachim Gonzales - were killed in that event.

In his 13 years of racing he competed in 153 races, winning 59 times.