Buenos Aires, Argentina. Piers Courage won the final round of the four race 'Temporada' Formula Two series.

Courage's win, in a Brabham, was the only series race not won by a Ferrari. The race was run in two 25 lap heats on the twisting 2.61 mile Buenos Aires Autodrome circuit No. 6. In the first heat, the Ferrari Dinos of "Tino" Brambilla and Andrea de Adamich ran away from Jochen Rindt's Brabham, who in turn was a distance ahead of the rest of the field. On the last lap, Brambilla's engine blew, leaving series champion de Adamich to take the win ahead of Rindt, Jo Siffert (Tecno) and Courage. At the start of heat 2, de Adamich's Ferrari spun off circuit after being hit from behind by Courage's Brabham. de Adamich returned to the track, but in last place. With one Ferrari out and one out of contention, Brabham teammates Rindt and Courage contested the lead. When Rindt's Cosworth engine failed just short of the finish, Courage took the lead and went on to take the heat and overall win. de Adamich worked back to 5th by the finish. de Adamich scored 36 points to take the series title over Rindt (21), Courage (14) and Brambilla (13). Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Jackie Oliver, Siffert, Henri Pescarolo, Clay Regazzoni and Pedro Rodriguez were other international drivers contesting the series. For 1969, it was hoped a non-championship F1 'Temporada' series could be held.

Leave a comment