Argentinian Grand Prix. Won by Jacques Laffite in a Ligier Ford.

Jacques Laffite won the Argentine Grand Prix as Ligier joined teams using Ford engines. Laffite and teammate Patrick Depailler put Ligier 1-2 on the grid. A lap 1 pile-up eliminated Jody Scheckter, Didier Pironi, Patrick Tambay, Nelson Piquet and Arturo Merzario. John Watson, also involved, re-started his McLaren after making repairs using parts from Tambay's car. Lafitte won by 14.9 seconds over Carlos Reutemann in a Lotus with Watson 3rd and Depailler 4th with a misfiring motor. Defending World Champion Mario Andretti (Lotus) and Emerson Fittipaldi (Copersucar) rounded out the point earners. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Leave a comment