Daytona 24 Hour race won by Mark Donohue and Charlie Parsons in a Lola

In a race that saw the Porsche and Ford teams collapse, the 'Daytona 24 Hours' World Sports Car Championship race was won by the Roger Penske entered Lola of Mark Donohue and Charlie Parsons, despite spending 80 minutes in the pits. The Porsches were slowed by split manifolds filling the cockpits with smoke, then fell out when their camshafts broke. Jacky Ickx crashed a John Wyer Ford GT40 while leading on Sunday morning and the David Hobbs/Mike Hailwood Wyer Ford GT40 led before retiring after losing water. Donohue/Parsons averaged 99.27 mph and ran 626 laps (2,383.75 miles) for the 24 hours. It was Lola's first long distance win. The Lola of Lothar Motschenbacher and Ed Leslie finished 30 laps behind in second with a Pontiac Firebird of Joe Ward and Jerry Titus third.

Leave a comment