Daytona 24 Hour Race. Won by Danny Chris Amon and Lorenzo Bandini in a Ferrari P4.

Ferraris dominated the 'Daytona 24 Hours' World Sports Car race, leading from the fourth hour with two new P4s and an updated P3 finishing 1-2-3. The team of Chris Amon and Lorenzo Bandini took the win, averaging 105.7 mph over 666 laps in 24 hours. The Ford Mk. 2 entries broke their new transmissions with the lone survivor driven to 7th by Bruce McLaren and Lucien Bianchi. The flipper winged 7 liter Chaparral 2F debuted with Phil Hill and Mike Spence leading the first four hours and Hill setting a new lap record before crashing out.

Leave a comment