Springvale, Victoria, Australia. The last ever round of the Tasman Cup was won by John Goss.

John Goss went into the record books as the final race winner in Tasman series history, taking his Holden/Repco powered Lola T332 across the line first in the Formula 5000 race on the Sandown Park circuit. Warwick Brown won the final championship. The series started in 1964 for 2.5 liter Formula One and switched to Formula 5000 in 1970. Beginning in 1976, New Zealand and Australia held separate series for Formula 5000 and the Tasman Cup name was retired to the mantle of history.

Leave a comment