Born on this day (27th - March)

Louis LeCocq

1892 - 1919

Cale Yarborough


Garcia Veiga


Didier de Radigu├Ęs


Mark Lovell

1960 - 2003

Parker Johnstone


Gregor Foitek


David Coulthard


Died on this day (27th - March)

Tom Alley

1889 - 1953

Heinz Schiller

1930 - 2007

On this day
9 / 3 / 1997
Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne. Won by David Coulthard in a McLaren.

David Coulthard was the McLaren victor this time at Melbourne. From 4th on the grid he went on to win ahead of Michael Schumacher, 20 seconds behind and Mika Hakkinen finished third, 2.1 seconds later. Frentzen set fastest lap of the race. Jacques Villeneuve sat on pole, unfortunately, he was out with an accident even before he got a lap in. This was the first Mercedes powered F1 victory since Juan Fangio won the 1955 Italian Grand Prix.