The Belgian Grand Prix was won by Jim Cark in a Lotus-Climax. Graham Hill's BRM was second with Phil Hill third in a Ferrari.

There was an early dice between Trevor Taylor and Willy Mairesse which lasted until the 9th lap when Clark took the lead. Taylor finally pulled clear of Mairesse only to spin at La Source and allow Mairesse to catch up. On lap 26 the cars touched at Blanchimont with Taylor's Lotus crashing into a telegraph pole and Mairesse's Ferrari overturning in flames.

Mairesse suffered serious injuries while Taylor got away with just cuts and bruises. Clark went on to win 43 seconds ahead of Graham Hill. Phil Hill was third edging out his Ferrari teammate Ricardo Rodriguez by a wheel to take 3rd.

Leave a comment