Fred Luther and one of the world's first (if not the first) automobile powered motorcycles

21-Jun-23 historicracing.com

Fred Luther was a pioneering motorcycle rider who had been competing since 1915. By 1934 his life must have become somewhat mundane as he came up with the idea of building a motorcycle to break the Land Speed Record....continue reading


Olivier Gendebien

09-Feb-24 historicracing.com

After serving with the British army in WWII he took up Rallying. He was hired by Enzo Ferrari to race his sports cars which he did very well. He won Le Mans four times, Sebring three times and the Targa Florio three times. He also raced in 15 Grand Prix.

...continue reading

The Donington Grand Prix in 1937

21-Apr-23 historicracing.com

The Donington Grand Prix in 1937. The first chance the British public had to see the Mercedes and Auto Union cars racing and, what a spectacle it proved to be! Though the reputation of the machines preceded them, no-one was prepared for that first lap. ...continue reading

Valdir Fauirin twin engined special

19-Apr-23 historicracing.com

Now then! The history of motoring has seen any number of twin-engined adventures, usually to nobody’s worthwhile benefit. But this wonderful little, Brazilian, home-build race car from 1971, was a bit special. Even for that sphere of novelty....continue reading

Behold the GAZ-TP

17-Apr-23 historicracing.com

Built in 1954, under official approval from the Supreme Presidium of the Soviet Socialist Republic, it’s claimed to have been the world’s first car ever jet-driven land vehicle, loaded, as it was, with the motivational extracts of a MIG-17....continue reading








  1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29  
A list of the drivers born on this day. Note this is not a compete list, if you know of any driver who should be added, please contact us by clicking here. Thank you.

Events on January 23rd

Interesting and notable events from the history of motor sport.


Argentine 1000 Kilometers World Sports Car Championship won by Enrique Saenz Valiente and Jose Maria Ibanez in a Ferrari.

Buenos Aires, Argentina. With only two factory Ferraris and two Gordinis entered, the local Ferrari Plus of Enrique Saenz Valiente and Jose Maria Ibanez won the Argentine 1000 Kilometers World Sports Car Championship race. The winners took the lead with 18 laps left when the Ferrari 375MM of Carlos Najurieta and Oscar Rivero Ferrari hit a dog. The Froilan Gonzales/Maurice Trintignant factory Ferrari was disqualified when Gonzales had fuel pump problems and took a short-cut to the pits. Later, the other factory Ferrari of Umberto Maglioli/Clemar Bucci was disqualified after being pushed by spectators.


Round 3 Tasman Cup, Lady Wigram Trophy, Wigram, New Zealand. Won by Jack Brabham in a 2.5 litre Cooper.

Jack Brabham (2.5 Cooper) took an effortless win in the Lady Wigram Trophy from English amateurs David Piper (2.5 Lotus) and Ian Burgess (2.2 Cooper). Bruce McLarens works Cooper expired in practice and he drove Malcolm Gills Lycoming Special instead, finishing fourth.


Round 3 Tasman Cup, Lady Wigram Trophy, Wigram, New Zealand. Won by Jim Clark in a Lotus-Climax.


Argentine Grand Prix, Buenos Aires. Won by Jackie Stewart in a Tyrrell.

Jackie Stewart won the F1 Argentine GP, the first time a championship F1 race had been held there since 1960. Carlos Reutemann made his GP debut in spectacular fashion, winning the pole in his Brabham BT34. Brabham also had a new manager, Bernie Ecclestone. Lotus appeared for the first time in gold and black John Player colors, Peter Revson returned full time to F1 and BRM (with new Marlboro backing) had 5 cars, but elected to not enter Beltoise in Argentina after the tragedy of 1971. Chris Amon's gearbox seized on the warm-up lap. Sand & gravel strewn on the track in an early incident caused several problems. New Lotus driver Dave Walker stalled, ran back to the pits for a hammer and re-started, but was disqualified for using tools not carried in the car. Meanwhile, Reine Wisell, replaced at Lotus by Walker, continued after getting out of his BRM and manually unsticking the throttle. Reutemann gambled on softer tires and quickly faded, but after pitting late for new tires, charged from 14th back to 7th. Stewart's Tyrell won by 25.9 seconds over Denis Hulme in a McLaren with Jacky Ickx 3rd in a Ferrari.


Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos. Won by Carlos Reutemann in a Ferrari.


South African Grand prix at Kyalami. Won by Alain Prost in a Renault RE30B.

Alain Prost won the South African GP in a Renault turbo, but the race took a back seat to politics. When practice began on Thursday, Jochen Mass was the only driver there. Protesting the new FISA Super license, every other driver had boarded a bus to a hotel. Mass had arrived late, literally missing the bus. Didier Pironi met with FISA head J.M. Balestre over the problems. The Super license rule was introduced to prevent drivers from breaking contracts and jumping teams (Prost's jump from McLaren to Renault brought about the rule). Clause 1 of the license stated that the driver would stay with the team until his contract expired. Clause 5 asked the driver to agree to do nothing to harm the moral or "material interest" of the World Championship and international motorsport. The drivers wanted it re-done so that if a driver couldn't leave a team, then a team could not fire a driver. Spectators were given refunds and race stewards announced that all 31 drivers were suspended and the race had been postponed 8 days. FISA announced they had withdrawn all 31 driver's licenses and that they would be ineligible for the World Championship. In a meeting, team managers agreed to run the race if drivers wishing to compete would report to the track between 8 and 9 AM on Saturday. Teo Fabi was the only driver at the track Saturday morning (he had sneaked out). Mass tried to practice, but was black flagged. An agreement was reached to re-do the offending sections of the rule. All drivers signed forms and returned to the track. Prost passed Carlos Reutemann and then Rene Arnoux with 15 laps left, going on to the win. After the race, stewards suspended all drivers except Fabi (in his first GP), Mass and Brian Henton. FISA announced that all the drivers were suspended.


Herbert Linge

11/6/1928 - 5/1/2024